Cycling from Kumamoto to Tokyo to Raise Awareness about Child Rights

Posted on July 31, 2011. Filed under: Child Custody and Visitation, Hague Convention, Human Rights, Japanese Family Law, Parental Alienation Syndrome, United Nation Convention on the Rights of a Child | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

I have made some modifications to my cycling trip.  I have decided to start in Kumamoto on the 13th of September. I picked this day because the judge will rule on my case on the 13th. I was expecting the ruling much earlier. As a result I thought it would be best to delay my start. It seems kind of symbolic to start in Kumamoto. I have a had to make numerous trips to Kumamoto for court.   I can pick up my ruling on the 13th and then start cycling. It would be nice if I could get press or left behind parents to see me off on the 13th. If you don’t have plans feel free to meet me at the Kumamoto Family Court on the 13th of September.

I am still planning to handout flyers along the way. I am still planning on stopping  at governors offices, court houses, and international schools. Due to my late start I may not have time to cycle all the way to Hokkaido. I will play it by ear.  There are numerous left behind parents who  can support me from Kumamoto to Tokyo but much less support exists between Tokyo and Hokkaido.  I am working with other left behind parents now to pin down the exact days I will be in Saga, Fukuoka, Yamaguchi, Hiroshima, Okayama, Kobe, Osaka, Kyoto, Otsu, Gifu, Nagoya, Shizuoka, Yokohama, and Tokyo.  I will be making updates on the Joint Custody in Japan Facebook page and the Children First Facebook page as well as my Facebook page. Please check one of these places every week or so.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Cycling from Kumamoto to Tokyo to Raise Awareness about Child Rights”

RSS Feed for Children First Blog Comments RSS Feed

Hi, Kevin,

I’m here in Kumamoto. Let me know if there is anything I can do – if you need a place to stay, what events, when and where – all that. My wife is Japanese; my son is 16 and daughter 14. We’re blessed to have a happy family, but my parents had a terrible divorce, so I have empathy.

Bill

Bill,
Thanks for the email and the offer. Let me think about how you can help me. Then I will get back to you. Kevin

Bill, Sorry it took so long for me to get back to you. I just finished my bike tour. I am in Tokyo now and there is a big demo tomorrow for joint custody and signing the Hague. I made it in the paper twice. I was able to raise awareness about the need for joint custody. I have tried to move to Kumamoto before so I can be closer to my son. But no one will interview me (I think) because I have a Nagoya address. It would be helpful if I could use your address for job application purposes. I think people would interview me and hire me if they thought I was living in Kumamoto. My Japanese is not good but I have a masters degree in education and I was a highschool teacher in America.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

