Visiting prefectural offices

Posted on December 17, 2011. Filed under: Abuse Neglect Death, Bullying, Child Custody and Visitation, Japanese Family Law | Tags: , , , |

I visited 9 prefectural buildings this week. That brings my total to 33 prefectures since September of this year. I gave the same short presentation at every child welfare office. Children First has 3 goals. Stop bullying. Stop abuse. Joint Custody. The focus of my presentation was on joint custody as most people are aware of abuse and bullying. Those stories make the news often. I spoke about the dysfunctional family courts. I gave everyone a copy of Colin Jones’ book about the family courts. Everyone received information about my cycling tour and what I am trying to do. I gave the child welfare departments a copy of the Osaka City Governments request to the diet to consider joint custody for Japan. We talked about the UNCRC and the secret Supreme Court DVD. They also received facts such as the average visitation after divorce is 4 hours per month. Japan is the only G-7 country without joint custody. Every 3 minutes a child loses contact with one parent due to divorce. I made a personal request that the governor consider sending a joint custody request to Tokyo just like Osaka did.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

